This site is privately owned and is not affiliated with any government agency. Learn more here.

Section 8 Eligibility Information |

Section 8 Eligibility

Sponsored Links

Beginner’s Guide to Section 8 Eligibility

Section 8 eligibility requirements help program workers determine who can receive benefits through this initiative. The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) oversees this program, but each jurisdiction manages its own Section 8 benefits network. Since individual cities or counties are responsible for overseeing their own programs, they are also in charge of determining these Section 8 qualifications for enrollment. As a result, depending on where individuals apply for Section 8, there could be different criteria they need to meet.

It is important that you understand how to qualify for Section 8 in your state. You should also review how Section 8 housing eligibility works before applying. Otherwise, you could miss out on valuable benefits that could help improve you and your family members’ lives. In any case, make sure you understand these criteria for enrollment before you decide to apply for benefits.

Who qualifies for Section 8?

Section 8 housing qualifications take into account different types of individuals who can apply for benefits. Various types of people qualify for benefits. Generally, individuals who fall into the following categories meet the eligibility requirements for Section 8 housing:

  • Families. In order to receive Section 8 benefits, applicants need to apply with a household. However, these family units can consist of individual people, as well as multi-person families where someone is a senior, disabled or a child.
  • Income. There are certain Section 8 income qualifications individuals need to meet to receive benefits. However, these exact amounts vary by state. To enroll, families need to qualify as low-income.
  • Citizenship. In order to enroll in the Section 8 program, applicants must be U.S. citizens. They could also qualify if they possess certain immigration statuses.
  • Eviction history. HUD Section 8 qualifications indicate that individuals who were evicted from previous apartments for drug-related offenses are not eligible to enroll.  

Regardless, if you are wondering, “How do you qualify for Section 8?” remember that your state is responsible for determining enrollment criteria. If you have specific questions about whether you qualify, contact your local Section 8 office.

What is the maximum income to qualify for Section 8?

There are specific Section 8 housing income limits eligibility requirements that you need to meet. This is because this HUD program is primarily for low-earning households. As a result, jurisdictions impose their own low income Section 8 qualifications that must be met before you can enroll. Therefore, if you want to know your area’s specific Section 8 eligibility guidelines, contact your local public housing agency (PHA). This is the entity that is responsible for distributing benefits from HUD.

Do I qualify for Section 8?

Once you learn what makes you eligible for Section 8 benefits, you may wonder about your specific eligibility. Your local HUD office may offer a Section 8 income eligibility calculator you can use. This tool helps you determine if you qualify for benefits. While this tool can be helpful, it does not provide you with an acceptance or denial. If you want to know for sure if you qualify, do not use a Section 8 eligibility calculator. Instead, you must apply for benefits to receive an official determination from the office.